There are many different reasons why a driver might lose their license in the state of South Carolina. From reckless driving charges to too many points from speeding tickets to DUI's and DWI's. No matter why you lose your driving privileges, making your way through the license reinstatement process can be a confusing and difficult journey your first time.
Thankfully, there is help out there. No matter the reason for your suspension, or license reinstatement requirements, Touma Law Group can help you on your way to being on the road again.
What do I Need to get My License Reinstated?
There are several steps you must take in order to get back on the road in South Carolina. Before everything else, you must wait out your license suspension period and satisfy all requirements given to you by the court in order to have your license reinstated. These requirements can vary depending on why your license was suspended. If your license was suspended for a lack of auto insurance, you may need to provide proof of insurance coverage to the court or to the DMV to satisfy your court requirements.
Your next step is paying all of the fines and fees associated with your license suspension, as well as either pay your license reinstatement application fees either in full or via payment plan and submit your drivers' license reinstatement application. Make sure that your application for reinstatement is filled out correctly, and includes all additional documents requested since the reinstatement application fee is nonrefundable.
Once you have completed these steps, there may be additional steps depending on the reason for your license revocation. If your license was suspended for a DUI or DWI, for example, you may need to complete a treatment program, such as rehab or AA. You may also need to have a BAIID (Breath alcohol ignition interlock device) in your car.
Once you have completed all the required steps for your reinstatement, you will be able to apply for a new license. You will need to pay for your new license, as well as any driver's test fees for your license type, provide proof of insurance, and take a written and practical driver's test to have your license reinstated.
How Much Does Drivers' License Reinstatement Cost?
The costs of license reinstatement depend on your reason for suspension. The base fee for getting your license reinstated is 100$, this applies to all reinstatement except those that state otherwise. If your license was suspended for a first time failure of a BAC test, your first DUI, or for too many points on your driving record, your fees will most likely be 100$.
If you have repeat offenses that cause your license to be suspended multiple times, the fees may increase depending on the reason for your suspension. For example, the first time you are caught driving without insurance, you will need to pay a $100 fee for reinstatement, as well as pay to reinstate your license plate and vehicle registration. If you are caught for a subsequent offense, you will have to pay a $200 fee instead of the $100 fee.
License reissue fees range up into the hundreds, however. Thankfully, SCDMV offers payment plans for anyone whose reinstatement fees reach over $300. Information on your payment plan options can be found on the SCDMV website. You can also pay your fees via SCDMV's online services, through a debit card or credit card. Your fees can also be paid in person, or mailed in via personal check or cashier checks, though a check fee may apply.
Related: What to do After a DUI in Greenville
Is a Payment Plan Offered for Reinstatement Fees?
There are a couple of different eligibility requirements in order to be accepted for payment plans through SCDMV. You must meet all criteria in order to apply and be approved for a payment plan.
To join a payment plan you must:
- Be a resident of South Carolina
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have been in possession of a South Carolina drivers license prior to your license suspension
- have not participated in a payment plan in the last 36 months (3 years)
- have been suspended for a qualifying reason
- have no pending suspensions
- owe at least $300 in fees for your reinstatement
If you meet these qualifications, and your application for the payment plan is accepted, there are a couple of steps you must take to confirm and begin your payment plan. First, you will pay a $35 fee to join the payment plan and you must be able to pay down 15% of the total fees you owe. So if you owe $300, you will need to pay the $35 service fees, as well as $45 down, for a total of $80 to reinstate your license.
You must also sign the payment plan agreement, as well as pass any tests that are required for your reinstatement, and pay the fees for those tests. Once you have completed all of the steps you will be given a six-month license. If you do not finish your payment plan in that time, your license will be revoked and you will have to start the entire process over again. When you have completed your payment plan, you will be eligible to take the written and road tests to receive your permanent license again.
Our Attorneys can Help You get Your License Back
Whatever the reason for your suspension, it's never too early to get prepared for the process of reinstatement. Whether you have questions about the conditions for reinstatement of your license, need help filling out an online application, making sure you have a complete application that can be turned in and will be accepted, we're here to help. From helping you fight against an unfair suspension, to helping your receive your valid license status back after completing a suspension, we're here for you.
Contact the Touma Law Group at864-618-2323 to speak with an experienced Greenville traffic lawyer today to answer all of your questions and get you started on your path to getting back behind the wheel.