At Touma Law Group, our driver’s license suspension lawyers in Greenville, SC, understand that having your driver's license suspended can have a significantly negative effect on your livelihood. If your driving privileges are suspended, your ability to get to school, medical appointments, work, and other essential appointments is drastically compromised and can cause you to lose your job, a scholarship, and other life-changing consequences.
Our skilled Greenville driver’s license suspension attorneys also know that being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs isn't the only reason your driver's license may be suspended. While the details behind every rescinded driver’s license are unique, so is our experience and expertise in pursuing solutions that may help you get you back your driver's license, so you can get your life together. Contact our knowledgeable Greenville County criminal defense attorneys today at 864-618-2323 to find out how to get your driver's license reinstated.
Common Reasons For Driver's License Suspension or Revocation in South Carolina
If your driver’s license has been suspended in South Carolina, you aren't alone. Last year alone, there were about 190,000 people in the state who lost their driving privileges because they didn't pay for their traffic tickets, which is one of many reasons for driver's license suspension in South Carolina. Some of the most common reasons for loss of driving privileges in South Carolina include:
- Impaired driving. It's essential to note that refusing to take a chemical test in South Carolina will automatically result in a six-month driver’s license suspension. If you're found guilty of driving while intoxicated, your driver's license can be suspended for at least six months for a first offense and potentially permanently suspended for subsequent offenses without installing a breath alcohol ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
- Driving with a suspended driver's license. Drivers whose driver's licenses have been suspended, but insist on operating a motor vehicle anyway, can seriously hurt their ability to get behind the wheel legally in the future. Driving with a suspended driver's license may cause an additional license revocation of varying lengths, based on the initial reason for the license suspension.
- Excessive traffic offenses. Repeat speeding tickets or other traffic violations, such as ignoring traffic signs and signals or reckless driving that exhibits a pattern of dangerous behavior while driving a motor vehicle may cause a driver’s license suspension for a period of three to six months.
- Driving a motor vehicle without the minimum vehicle insurance requirements. Driving a motor vehicle without valid auto insurance can cause your driver's license to be suspended and this criminal offense may be accompanied by a $550 reinstatement fee. The same license suspension is true for drivers who don't maintain SR-22 insurance when required, which includes reinstatement fees of up to $400. Also, there are several non-driving reasons you could lose your driving rights in South Carolina, including:
- Not responding to a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) notice.
- Not appearing in court.
- Not paying child support payments.
If your driver’s license has been suspended for any reason, contact our experienced traffic ticket attorneys in Greenville to learn how we can help you, and provide straightforward defense strategies for regaining your driving privileges, so you can confidently get back behind the wheel with no worries.
Criminal Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License in Greenville?
As mentioned above, in South Carolina, a driver’s license could be suspended for several reasons, including intoxicated driving, driving without acceptable insurance, accumulating too many traffic points (12 or more), not paying traffic tickets, and not paying child support. A driver’s license can be revoked for a criminal conviction of manslaughter caused by a motor vehicle accident or from the commission of a criminal offense involving a motor vehicle.
Driving on a suspended driver's license is a misdemeanor offense in South Carolina and, upon the criminal conviction, the offense carries the following criminal penalties:
If the original license suspension wasn't related to alcohol or impaired driving:
- 1st offense results in a $300 fine and/or incarceration of up to 30 days in jail.
- 2nd offense results in a $600 fine and/or incarceration of up to 60 days in prison.
- 3rd offense and subsequent offense results in a $1000 fine and incarceration of up to 90 days in jail or home detention up to 90 days.
If the original suspension was related to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs:
- 1st offense results in a $300 fine and/or incarceration of 10 to 30 days in prison.
- 2nd offense results in a $600 fine and/or incarceration of 60 days to 6 months in jail.
- 3rd offense and subsequent offense results in a $1000 fine and incarceration of 6 months to 3 years in jail.
Besides, the driver's license suspension will be extended, typically by the amount of time of the original suspension. Also, it's essential to note that if your license is suspended, your license isn't automatically valid once the suspension period lapses. First, you must reinstate your license. To reinstate your license, you must pay a reinstatement fee of $100 per suspension and follow other requirements that depend on the type of traffic violation.
If your South Carolina license was revoked, you can get it reinstated, too, based on several factors. This is when you need the legal advice of experienced driver's license suspension attorneys like those at Touma Law Group.
What is the Criminal Penalty for Driving Without a License in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, it’s a criminal violation to drive without a valid license. The criminal penalty for driving without a license largely depends on how many times you’ve committed the traffic violation. This is a misdemeanor offense and with a criminal conviction, the criminal penalties are:
- 1st offense results in a $50-$100 fine or incarceration for 30 days
- 2nd offense results in a $500 fine and/or incarceration for 45 days
- 3rd offense and subsequent offenses result in imprisonment 45 days to 6 months.
Contact Our License Suspension Attorneys Today for a Free Consultation
If you're facing the possibility of losing your driving privilege or have already, don't face law enforcement agencies, the traffic courts, or the DMV alone. Our skilled Greenville driver’s license attorneys will review your traffic violations and propose the best legal strategy that will give you the best chance to avoid a criminal record.
Also, our legal team will help you get back your driver’s license back — even temporarily or provisionally — so you can do the things you need to do daily, and keep your life moving in the right direction. Contact our Greenville traffic lawyers today at the 864-618-2323 for a free case review.